Kobalt Works


Zimmerman Melanie Lane

German composer Bernd Alois Zimmermann is one of the most fascinating figures in 20th-century music. With his love of collages, jazz and theatre, his body of work that cannot easily be categorized.

His cello concerto is a striking example of this headstrong approach that Arco Renz translates into a vibrant contemporary choreography performed by soloist Melanie Lane.

A commission by the Concertgebouw Bruges and Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra.


  • Artistic Direction Arco Renz
  • Choreography Arco Renz in collaboration with Melanie Lane
  • Dance Melanie Lane
  • Music Cello concerto by Bernd Alois Zimmermann, performed by Brussels Philharmonic, directed by Michel Tabachnic
  • Costumes Arco Renz
  • Light Arco Renz
  • Commissioned by Concertgebouw Bruges and Brussels Philharmonic